UConn Selected by NSF for Technology Startup Creation

The University of Connecticut’s Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) and the Connecticut Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (CCEI) are pleased to announce that UConn has been selected as a National Science Foundation I-Corps Site. The primary goal of the NSF I-Corps program is to foster entrepreneurship that will lead to the commercialization of technology that has been supported previously by NSF-funded research. I-Corps Sites are academic institutions that catalyze the engagement of multiple, local teams in technology transition and strengthen local innovation.

UConn has been awarded a grant from NSF of $300,000 for three years. The funds will be used to operate Accelerate UConn (AU), a joint effort of the OVPR’s Technology Commercialization Services, UConn’s technology transfer, incubation and commercialization entity, and CCEI, headquartered in the UConn School of Business. As an NSF I-Corps Site, Accelerate UConn will expand UConn’s community of innovators and entrepreneurs and will aid in the transformation of UConn discoveries into products that benefit humanity and add to economic growth.

“As more startups begin to flourish as a result of these efforts, new Connecticut jobs will be created, helping to strengthen the state’s economy,” President Herbst said.                        

Accelerate UConn will be co-developed under the direction of Vice President for Research, Dr. Jeff Seemann, and CCEI Faculty Director, Dr. Timothy B. Folta. “Connecticut has historically relied on well-established firms to support its economy, resulting in a continuing need to build a pool of entrepreneurial talent and innovative new companies. AU’s activities will support a growing entrepreneurially driven economy in Connecticut with new investible technologies and startups emerging from our research laboratories,” said Dr. Seemann.

“Accelerate UConn and the NSF I-Corps Program align perfectly with the work we have underway at CCEI, helping us advance company creation through faculty and student entrepreneurship,” said Dr. Folta, also the Thomas John and Bette Wolff Family Chair of Strategic Entrepreneurship.

This award starts February 15, 2015 and ends January 31, 2018. A primary use of the award money will be to fund and train campus entrepreneurial teams.

For more information, please contact Rita Zangari at (860) 486-3010.